Search This Website

Thursday, November 12, 2020

Big Decision of state government, inclusion of 32 more castes in EBC


 Big Decision of state government, inclusion of 32 more castes in EBC

The Bhumihars claim Brahmin status, and are also referred to as Bhumihar Brahmin. In Bihar, they are also known as Babhan and they have also been called Bhuinhar.

The state government has taken an important decision before Diwali. The Rupani Government has included 32 more castes in the EBC (Economically Backward Class). The decision has been made by the government's Department of Social Justice and Empowerment. Out of 32 castes included in EBC, 20 castes of Hinduism and 12 castes of Muslim religion have been included.

The Bhumihars were a prominent land-owning group of eastern India until the 20th century, and controlled some small princely states and zamindari estates in the region. The Bhumihar community played an important role in the peasant movements of India, and was highly influential in the politics of Bihar in the 20th century.


The word Bhumihar is of relatively recent origin, first used in the records of the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh in 1865. It derives from the word bhoomi ("land"), referring to the caste's landowner status. The term Bhumihar Brahmin was adopted by the community in the late 19th century to emphasize their claim of belonging to the priestly Brahmin class. The alternate name "Babhan" has been described as an apabhramsha for "brahmin".





As with many castes in India, there are numerous myths regarding the origins of the Bhumihar community. One legend claims that their ancestors were Brahmins who were set up to take the place of the Kshatriyas slain by Parashurama but some non-Bhumihars have implied that they are the mixed-race offspring of Brahmin men and Kshatriya women. Other legends state that they are the offspring of a union between Rajput men and Brahmin women, or that they derive from Brahman-Buddhists who lost their high position in Hindu society. The Bhumihars themselves dislike these narratives involving "hybridity" or "fallen status", and claim to be pure Brahmins.

Before Diwali, the state government has made an important decision. The Rupani Government has included more than 32 castes in EBC (Economically Backward Class). This decision has been made by the government's social justice and empowerment department. There are 20 castes of Hindu religion and Muslim religion from 32 castes included in EBC have been included in 12 caste of Muslim religion.

These castes were included in the EBC

-Valam Brahmin, Modh Vanik, Modh Vaniya
-Khandelwal, Raikwal Brahmin, Purbia Rajput Kshatriya
-Hindu Arethiya, Vavia, Hindu Mehta
-Jethi Mall, Jesthi Mall, Jayeshthi Mall
-Jobanputra, Pushkarna Brahmin, Siddharudra Brahmin
-Sanchihar Brahmin, Purohit, Rajpurohit
-Maheshwari, Agarwal, Thakkar, Maru Rajput, Rawat
-Quresh Muslim, Sunni Muslim Vora Patel
-Momin, Vaidya caste, Momin carpenter
-Muman, Khedvaya Muslim, Muslim Khatri, Chauhan Muslim
-Muslim Rauma, Muslim Raima, Mirza, Began included
-Pindhara, Muslim merchant, Shia Jafri caste

No comments:

Post a Comment